2017 Programme Rutland Local History & Record Society Researching Rutland	Registered Charity No 700273
Thursday 12th January 7.00 pm - Oakham Castle George Phillips and Tony Traylen Built Environment Awards followed by Robert Clayton of RCC with a talk detailing The Oakham Castle Project Thursday 9th February 7.30pm - Rutland County Museum The Death and Afterlife of Wistan, murdered princely saint of Mercia. Douglas Clinton Thursday 9th March 7.30pm - Rutland County Museum AGM, Friends of Rutland County Museum and Oakham Castle followed by a talk on The Uppingham Typhoid Epidemic, 1875-7 Dr. Nigel Richardson Thursday 13th April 7.30pm - Rutland County Museum The Forbidden Royal Romance and its Local Connections A film by Barbara Keene
Thursday 11th May 7.30pm - Rutland County Museum AGM, Rutland Local History and Record Society followed by a talk on Revealing Grey Friars: The search for Leicester's lost Franciscan Friary Mathe Morris Thursday 8th June 7.30pm - Rutland County Museum Peterborough Cathedral: 900 Years of an Icon Stuart Orme, Director of Operations at the Cathedral A Guided Tour of Peterborough Cathedral is planned by the Friends for June or July. Details to be arranged. Thursday 13th July 7.30pm - Rutland County Museum Talking Machines. The History of Recorded Sound Colin Ray Saturday 2nd September 7.30pm - Oakham Castle The Hanson Lecture Marc Allum of the BBC Antiques Roadshow will be speaking There is a charge for this event - Please book at the Museum Saturday 16th September RLHRS Village Visit - Cottesmore Advance bookings only Please download full details and an application form Thursday 21st September 7.30pm - Rutland County Museum How Museums Benefit Society Dr. Ceri Jones, Museum Studies Dept., Leicester University Thursday 12th October 7.30pm - Rutland County Museum Rutland Men in the Crimean War Tony Marten Thursday 9th November 7.30pm - Rutland County Museum Queen Mary and Fotheringhay Canon Michael Wilson